Sixth Annual

Young Scholars Forum on U.S.-China Relations

Schedule

Click each event for more information. Please note that this schedule is subject to change. All sessions will be held over Zoom, and links will be posted to this calendar shortly.

Audience Zoom Information

Please register here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_TTpYb2zeRNm8iPVSyOl_BQ

Panels & Papers

  • Panel #1
  • Panel #2
  • Panel #3
  • Panel #4

Panel time: September 22, 2021 at 10:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. ET (21:15 - 23:45 北京时间).

Discussants: Jessica Teets & Shao Yuqun.

Guan Chenglong, Shanghai Institute for International Studies, "'裱糊匠'还是'开创者':拜登政府中产外交评析."

Ceres Zhao, Fujian Normal University, "国内政治优先还是对外政策优先?—中美破冰以来的国内因素与对美政策(1969-至今)."

Wang Peng, Renmin University of China, "用绿色“一带一路”重建更好世界: 推动中美非洲生物多样性保护合作."

Zhang Xiaoqing, Beijing International Studies University, "2017 年以来美国公众对华认知变化趋势、内在动因及政策影响."

Following the presentations, Jessica Teets will offer remarks followed by Shao Yuqun.

Panel time: September 23, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. ET (21:00 - 22:30 北京时间).

Discussants: Zha Daojiong & Shannon Tiezzi.

Brian Wong, University of Oxford, "The current Chinese government does not seek global domination; it seeks global reach. Its ruling party’s legitimacy requires the latter, and the antithesis to the former."

Duan Xiaolin, Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen), "Is China’s external propaganda hijacking its foreign policies?"

Guan Wang, University of Maryland, "Speaking With One Voice? The Bipartisan Consensus on China in the U.S. House of Representatives."

Following the presentations, Zha Daojiong will offer remarks followed by Shannon Tiezzi.

Panel time: September 23, 2021 at 10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. ET (22:30 - 24:00 北京时间).

Discussants: Joseph Fewsmith & Wang Yong.

Chao Chen, Renmin University of China, "双循环发展战略对新时代中国外交的影响研究."

Taiyi Sun, Christopher Newport University, "The Trump Administration’s Jacksonian Foreign Policy and its Implications to the Cross-Strait Relations."

Mao Weizhun, Nanjing University, "大变局下的中美人文交流'安全化'逻辑探析."

Following the presentations, Joseph Fewsmith will offer remarks followed by Wang Yong.

Panel time: September 24, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. ET (21:00 - 22:30 北京时间).

Discussants: Todd Hall & Wu Xinbo.

Samuel Seitz, University of Oxford, "A Tough Audience: Chinese Status-Seeking Amidst the Pressures of the Two-Level Game."

Anna Tan, King's College London, "Nationalism and Political Economy as Domestic Influences of U.S. and China’s Foreign Policy – A Comparative Reflection."

Elliot Ji, Princeton University, "Building Discourse Power: Challenges to the Development of a China-led International Normative Order."

Chen Yiyuan, completed her post-doc at Peking University, "近期美台军售政策变化及对中美关系的影响."

Following the presentations, Wu Xinbo will offer remarks followed by Todd Hall.

Speakers & Discussants

Organizers & Partners